A Christmas Tea

Getting ready for Christmas was a bit of a challenge this year!  I was in the middle of decorating my home and decided to go outside to cut some fresh greens and bent over to clip some holly berry’s from a bush in my front yard and bang…my back went berserk!!!  I could hardly get back into the house.  So I got several days behind on finishing, but thank the Lord for my husband, who kicked into gear and helped me big time!  I had to rest, keep ice packs on my back and visit the Chiropractor a couple of times and it is much better now!

Thank God I had worked ahead of time on the Christmas Tea Event that I was helping with at my church and had most of what I wanted to do done for my table that I would be hosting.  I usually start thinking and working on projects like this about a month ahead anyway, so I was in good shape.

But…there was another thing that might keep me from going to the actual Tea on Saturday and that was that my miracle grand baby could make her grand debut.  My son, Matthew and his wife, Regan had a doctor appointment on the 8th and asked me if I wanted to come to the appointment because they would be doing an ultra-sound, and thought I would like to see it.  I met them at the Doctor’s office and we saw our little girl and all looked perfect.  Next Regan needed to be checked and have her urine tested. 

Well, the urine showed protein in it, so her doctor sent her to have some blood testing done to see if she was having preeclampsia. ( I decided to leave and run some errands for a few last minute things I wanted for the Tea.)  They admitted her to the hospital and kept watch over her “numbers”.  Anyway, to make a long story short, after two days  the preeclampsia was high and they needed to do a C-section.  So Adelyn Jean-Marie was born on Dec. 10 at 8:45.  

I was at the Tea and waiting for the text to let me know when they would be doing the surgery and next thing I know my son sends me pictures of Addie!!!  They moved pretty quick once they knew what they had to do that morning!  It was about 10:30 a.m. and the Tea was well underway.  I could hardly stand to stay any longer, so I finished eating and my bestie, Martha, said she would clean up for me, and off I went to the hospital!

So, before we get to the pictures, I just have to tell you why Adelyn is a miracle!  My son and his wife had tried to have a child for over 13 years.  They tried everything you can imagine to have a baby and even got pregnant, on their own, one time but the baby died at about 9 weeks.  It was heartbreaking to say the least!  But then God…they got pregnant again on their own in April, without any outside help or procedures.  Now she is here and she is perfect.  She weighed 6 lbs. and 6 oz., and is 18 inches long.  

For the tea I did a rustic theme and got lots of wonderful compliments:

img_0204

This is an annual tea that our Women’s ministry puts on every year and I almost always sponsor a table.

img_0198

I made the dessert plates.  I bought the little white plates from the Dollar Tree store and used a paint marker to write on them.  These were a gift for each lady that would sit at my table.

fullsizerender-26

I wrapped the napkins with some burlap, red and white bakers string and I printed the Merry Christmas tags from Pinterest.  The chargers were from Michael’s.  I used the small paper doilies as a coaster for the water glasses.

fullsizerender-26-copy

For my centerpiece I found this rustic pine tree at one of my favorite shops and sat it on a white tin pedestal stand, put a faux wreath around it, added some ultra-thin battery operated lights and a cute little cardinal.

img_0201

I put a little nest on the other side which hid the black box that holds the batteries for the lights.  I used real pine branches and holly berries along with some pine cones around the base.  I like mixing faux and real together.  The votive candles are Ball jelly jars that I painted with chalk paint and then roughed them up a bit.

fullsizerender-28

I know it’s hard to see these, but I made little wreaths for the back of the chairs which I ended up using again at home for decor in my kitchen.  The black and white buffalo checked table cloth came from E-Bay,  http://www.ebay.com/itm/371513348549?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT  and it was only $14.00.

img_0195

I love how versatile white dishes are and I got mine at Bed, Bath and Beyond.  I just love them.  Now I would like to show you a few of the other tables at the Tea.  There were over 30 tables total.

img_0222

I just love this whimsical table with all the red and white!  I adore the red dishes with the white polka dots.

img_0215

This was another one of my favorites!  I am partial to the Friendly Village china because my mother-in-law had it and she loved it so much.  The winter church scene is so sweet as the centerpiece.

img_0211

You might be able to tell that I am attracted to red and white…grin.  This table is just sweet and fun.

img_0216

This is the last one I will show.  There were so many beautiful tables, I wish I could show you more, but I think that would be a bit much.  Now I think I’m in the mood for a cup of tea….God bless!

Merry Christmas,

Brenda

6 thoughts on “A Christmas Tea

Leave a Reply

