A Few Spruce Ups

Once I got my house back together after the holidays I started looking around and decided I needed to change a few things.  

The wall above my couch in our living room has been the same for several years, and although I have enjoyed it, I felt like I wanted to lighten up the look.  I am slowly, but surely, trying to give my home that farmhouse look with more whites and ivory.  I have one problem though…I still love the color red, so I will probably still have it here and there.  

I neglected to take some before photos, but found one that is from Christmas so you can see what it looked like before.

img_0601

I ordered the butterfly pictures some years ago from Art.com and they were too small to put on this big wall, so I went to Michael’s and purchased some bigger black frames, took the glass out and replaced it with foam board that I covered with burlap and then I simply hung the smaller pictures in the middle to give them more size.  

I had a good size old 6 pane window frame that was down in my basement hanging on a wall down there and decided it would look good upstairs where I could enjoy it more and it would be the perfect size for this wall.

img_0663

Now I just needed to decide how to use it.  At first I was going to find some interesting things to put in each space, but on second thought I decided I didn’t want it to get too busy, so I found an old grape vine wreath and added some greenery to it and hung it with some fine wire from a tiny little nail that is practically invisible.

img_0636

Next I went on a search around the house for the things I thought would look nice on the shelf and I had most of what you see already.  I did run to good ole’ Hobby Lobby and get the small potted plant (which was half off, yay) and think it is just right.

 

Next time I do my blog I will show you what I did to re-purpose the butterfly pictures. I had a spot in my dining room that I felt they would be great for and am happy with their new home in my homey sweet home…grin!  

I hope you are keeping warm and toasty during these cold months and  I want to leave you with an encouraging word which I plan to do at the end of each post from now on…

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.  Is. 41:10

Blessings,

Brenda

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Few Spruce Ups

  1. First, I love the verse. I’ve seen that very one several times in the last week! Next, I love the window. We had one but I didn’t think fast enough before my husband found a project, and I lost out! I love how you repurpose things. I rarely change things,but you are inspiring me 😝

    Like

    • I was hoping that the verse God led me to would bless someone…yay God! So glad to inspire you, that is one thing I was hoping to do with the blog. Thanks for always commenting so positively, it blesses me.

      Like

      • It has blessed me too. Been a stressful year and list my daddy in December. I am in a “weary” place. Thanks for the reminder that God’s got this! Happy New Year.

        Like

  2. Hi dear friend, I did hear that you lost your daddy, and am so sorry about that! I know you must miss him terribly! Hopefully you received the card I sent you? This year has been bitter/sweet for us too, but with our precious little Adelyn we couldn’t be more thankful for God’s goodness! How about I meet you some afternoon when you are free for lunch? I can drive half way and meet you somewhere? Please think seriously about that and get back to me sometime soon. Love and hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

