That Looks Better

Here I am with another small change that I made by re-purposing my butterfly pictures that I used to have hanging over my couch.  Here is the picture of them before that I showed in my last blog post.

img_0601

I really did like how they looked, but it’s just time to lighten things up as I said before.  I just couldn’t put them away down in the basement with all the other things I have replaced recently since I still love the actual prints.  So I got out my trusty Old White chalk paint by Annie Sloan and painted the frames.

It took about three coats, but this paint dries so fast that it was a quick fix.  I used Annie’s clear wax on them next and then distressed them a bit before going over them with the dark wax that gives them that worn look and seals them nicely.  If it wasn’t such a hassle I would take them apart and also antique the white matting on them, but they  were professionally framed and I could possibly ruin them, so I decided they look fine the way they are.  I gave them a new home in my dining room on the right side of the hutch.

img_0648img_0640

My dining room is a soft sage green and the prints have lots of green in them, so I think they work great here.    I wish my photos here were a little better.  I really need to take a photography class and learn how to take more professional looking pictures!

Another thing that is new in this room is the chandelier.  I had been keeping my eye on a sale for this light for a couple of months and it went on sale just before Christmas.  It is from World Market Cost Plus, and I got it on sale for $127, but even at full price it is still a good deal.   http://www.worldmarket.com/product/rustic+wire+chandelier.do?&from=fn  This is how it looked for Christmas:

img_0192

I love it, not just for it’s looks, but because it isn’t as bulky as my old one was.  This is the best picture I could find of my old one and you can see the wall next to the hutch and what used to be there, so it is a pretty good find I guess, taken in 2012.  I must not take pictures in this room except during the holidays, but will do better at before and after photos from now on.

img_1843 

I can’t wait to get this hutch painted white like the chairs are now, it is going to look so much better.   I think we bought this dining room set in the late 80’s, so it’s past time for a face lift.  Anyway this light was pretty too, but more formal and obtrusive.

I hope you are having a great Sunday.  My husband is happy because the Falcon’s just won against Green Bay and are going to the Super Bowl.  Also, we are in Florida on a vacation this week, so it should be a very nice week.  Take care and God Bless!

I leave you with an encouraging word:

There is no panic in heaven!  God has no problems, only plans.  ~Corrie TenBoom

“Call to me and I will answer you, and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.”
-Jeremiah 33:3

All Praise to Him,

Brenda

 

3 thoughts on “That Looks Better

  1. really great, Brenda:) Love your changes!

    Blessings and joy, Rickee

    We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you.” 2 Chronicles 20:12

    for I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep what I have committed to Him until that Day. 2 Timothy 1:12

    ________________________________

    Like

Leave a Reply

