A Ladies Tea for a Good Cause

I had the pleasure of taking part in a fundraiser today for a ministry that focuses on kids and bringing them to special camps where they have a weekend of fun and hearing how much God loves them.  The fundraiser helps to bring underprivileged kids to the camps that wouldn’t be able to attend otherwise.  

I was excited to help and sponsor a table at this Tea and decided to do all neutrals for my design, it’s just my “cup of tea” right now…grin.  

First I want to show you how I used some paper doilies as part of the design, but I wanted them to look aged.  img_0715

I took some plain white square paper doilies and used some brown chalk from my chalk set and a old paint brush and just brushed the edges of the doilies with the chalk and wa-la…antiqued doilies.

img_0717

I had so much fun making dessert plates for the Christmas Tea at my church this last December that I decided to do it again for this Tea.  It’s so easy and inexpensive when you buy the white plates at the Dollar Tree and use a paint marker.  I bought the paint marker on-line quite a long time ago, so I can’t remember where I got it, but I have used it several times and it still has paint left in it.  I think it cost me about $6.

img_0721

As I said this was a fundraiser, so one of the things they did was have a purse auction and each table was to have a  purse as part of the decor that would be bid on.  I chose a taupe purse from Kohl’s and put a vase inside of it so I could fill it with babies breath and mini carnations.  img_0726 img_0730

I wanted to use a few old books to add to the tablescape, but I didn’t have enough of them that were neutral, so I covered a couple of them with packing paper as you can see under the little creamer pitcher.

img_0729

I used things I already had around my house, like the crimped pedestal, the wreath under it and the cute little birdies.

img_0727

I am really into the cotton boughs lately and always think simple pine cones look great, so I have lots of them around my home.  I have a yard full of pine cones, so it’s awesome to go out and grab some anytime I need them for a project.  Here is the entire look of the table.

img_0733img_0732

Each lady was given her dessert plate to take home as my thank you for coming to the tea and I think they all had a great time.  We enjoyed the food and fellowship, along with the speaker, Anne B. Say,  who inspired all of us today.  Knowing that we helped to raise money today for children who might not be able to come to camp this summer unless we contributed to the fund that will give them the opportunity to come and hear the gospel and be changed forever, makes a person feel pretty good.  

Camp Gideon is run by some amazing people that are so dedicated to pouring their lives into young people and it was my pleasure to help them accomplish their goals for this year.  If you want to check it out,  here is the link for the camps.

Thanks for reading the blog, I hope you enjoy it.

I want to share the verse of the day from my You Version Bible App:  May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.  Romans 15:13 NIV

God Bless,

Brenda

 

 

6 thoughts on “A Ladies Tea for a Good Cause

  1. Oh Brenda, I just knew your table would be FANTASTIC!!!! And it is just stunning! You are the most creative and extraordinary decorator with ordinary things! You are inspirational! I am so sorry I missed this special time! Hoping another opportunity opens for another time! Love you bunches and enjoy your trip to see Family!!! M >

    Like

  2. Brenda, i loved your table and the theme. You have a gift for decorating and putting everything together beautifully. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

