My Sunny Guest Bedroom

Life has had quite a few ups and downs lately, so I have gotten behind on a few things like posting on my blog.  I have so many things I want to write about,  and decided since it is Spring I would show y’all my guest room today, because it kind of makes me think of spring.  This room is bright and cheery.  

IMG_0966

I found this quilt a few years ago and designed the room around it.  It has red, gold, black and teal in it and the reverse side is black and white.  I’ve probably said this before, but red is my favorite color.  I have been slowly re-doing my home in the farmhouse style, which means lots of neutral furniture, walls and decor and I really love that too, but I don’t think I will ever be able to completely eliminate the color red.  

Above the bed I wanted a big sign and couldn’t find one I really liked, so I made one.  There is this business near me called The Project Studio where you can go and make signs like this and they show you how to do the lettering and have all the supplies and equipment you need to make any kind of sign you want.  It’s such a great idea and lots of fun!  I didn’t need much help because I am pretty good at lettering already, but they have the wood and cut it the size you want and give you any help you need.  

IMG_0953

IMG_0954

One of my best friends, Martha, bought me a very old shutter that was from a local home that is over 100 years old for my birthday a couple years ago.  It is in pretty rough shape, but I was able to sand it down a bit and clean it up.  It is very heavy because it is a solid wood shutter.  I had to make sure whatever I used to hang it with could hold it up securely!  If it falls it might break apart.  

IMG_0959

I found this birdhouse frame at Hobby Lobby and put a favorite picture of my brother, Mike and I in it.  We are about 4 and 5 in this picture.  Some guy came into our neighborhood with this pony and I’m assuming kid’s western wear and was selling photos to parents who were willing to take him up on his grand idea.  I’m glad my folks did.

IMG_0961

The other pictures on the shutter are of my dad, my mom, a grandfather and my brother and I again with my dad in our front yard.  I have quite a few old photos. Some are just copies, but I think they are so special.

IMG_0962

I put my grandparent’s (my mom’s parents) wedding photo along with a baby picture of me and a baby picture of my grandma Kimble (my dad’s mom) on this window shelf that a dear friend made and gave me several years ago.  I still love it, Rhonda…grin!  This wall is straight across from the bed and has a baby crib under it that has been used for all of my grand kids except our newest grand-daughter who is only 3 months old.  I didn’t show it because it desperately needs to be painted, and I will be painting it white…someday 🙂

IMG_0963IMG_0965

I have a window seat in this room and it’s great for extra storage.  This little suitcase was a fun find on a visit to my best friend’s house, Irene, in Colorado.  It had the perfect colors for the room and is such a cute size.  I think it must have been a child’s overnight case back in the 50’s or 60’s…I’m guessing.  I thought it looked great sitting on the window seat with the pitcher and bowl set my mom gave me.

IMG_0968

I found this antique table at a nail salon, of all places!  A local antique dealer put a few of his things at this salon for them to use and hopefully sell and I fell in love with it.  It was painted gray, but I wanted it white, of course.  I am planning on distressing it soon.  

IMG_0971

I have been thinking that I might go all white in this room in the near future, but keep the quilt as an accent piece.  I’d love to paint the bed, but I only have about 10 other things I want to also paint white, so who knows if I will ever get to this.  

I have lots more to blog about, so stay tuned for more rooms in my home.  I have to take more pictures, get them downloaded and edit them.  I hope y’all are doing well and are enjoying Spring in all it’s glory.

I think this is an appropriate verse for today:  “Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all thing are become new.”  2 Cor. 5:17  

Grace and Peace,

Brenda

4 thoughts on “My Sunny Guest Bedroom

  1. brenda, would you send me your personal email!

    Blessings and joy, Rickee

    We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you.” 2 Chronicles 20:12

    for I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep what I have committed to Him until that Day. 2 Timothy 1:12

    ________________________________

    Like

  2. A lovely, inviting guest Room! I too love red & have a hard time leaving it out of a room! I love seeing your gifts from God all around your home as well as at RS👍😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

