What’s Old is New Again

I took on a big project that I started about 6 months ago.  I decided to paint my old dining room set that I have had since the 80’s.  It’s one of those solid oak sets, with a double pedestal table that holds two large leaves that make it about 10 feet long.  We only use it with the extra leaves about twice a year, but it sure is handy when my whole family gathers for holidays!  I also bought a hutch with it and still remember when we bought it that I thought it was so amazing and couldn’t wait to decorate it.

My hubs, my four boys and I used this table as our main dinner table back then as we didn’t have a formal dining room, so it had gotten lots of use until about the latter part of the 90’s.  It’s had a lot of milk spilled on it…grin!

I started with the chairs just before the holidays last year.  They took me quite a while because I was having trouble with my right shoulder and arm which sent me to Physical Therapy for a bit.  Slowly, but surely I got all six done, they were not easy with all their spindles and cut out design on the back of them!!  But then it was time to focus on Thanksgiving and Christmas, so the table and hutch had to wait.

Well, everything is done…glory hallelujah!!  I forgot to take a picture of the table before starting it, but I did take a picture of the hutch so you can see what it looked like before all my manual labor!

IMG_0992

I used Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint in Old White to paint all of the furniture.  It’s such a great way to go because there is no prep work with this paint, you just dust off  your pieces and start painting.

IMG_1035

I had to do at least two coats of paint on everything and sometimes three, but I would water down the paint for the third coat and just go overs the spots that needed it the most.  

IMG_0988

After painting everything with two to three coats of paint it has to be waxed.  First a clear wax goes on and has to set just a little bit and then the distressing begins.  I enjoy doing the distressing part!  After I get done sanding and banging on each piece I go back over it again with more wax, but add some dark wax with some clear and antique it to give it that more rustic look.

IMG_1050

I’m so thrilled with the way it all turned out and had a lot of fun adding my white dishes to the hutch!

IMG_1040

Adding a little bit of greenery gives it a warmer feel and the bird sculptures that I inherited from my mother-in-law that were created by Norman Brumm, (An artist from Michigan),  give some whimsy to the design.  I also love to use old books to help give height to some of the pieces.

IMG_1044

IMG_1038

IMG_1045

IMG_1037IMG_1039

Here are a few pics of my dough bowl that I put on the table as my centerpiece.  As you can see I enjoy using cute little birdies quite a bit, they just make me smile.

IMG_1051

I’m not quite done painting everything in this room yet.  I have a couple small pieces I want to do that I haven’t shown you yet.  Who knows when I will get to that though…he he.  

I was thinking how by just putting on a new coat of paint on my aging furniture made it look new again, bright and fitting for my space and how it parallels with how our lives are changed when we submit to our God.  In Colossians, chapter 3, these verses speak to me about just this.  “But now you must also put off all these: anger, wrath, malice, blasphemy, filthy language out of your mouth.  Do not lie to one another, since you have  put off  the old man with his deeds, and have put on the new man who is renewed in knowledge according to the image of Him who created him…Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humbleness of mind, meekness, longsuffering; bearing with one another, and forgiving one another, if anyone has a complaint against another, even as Christ forgave you so you also must do.  But above all these things put on love, which is the bond of perfection.  Col. 3:9-10, 12-14.

Just like it was a decision for me to PUT ON the new paint and refresh my table, chairs and hutch…we choose to put on love and then God can use us to brighten the space we are in and as my dining room set gives me renewed joy, so can we give joy to those around us.  It can be a process, just like it was for me to re-do my furniture, but if we determine to be all we can be for Christ and obey Him, not only do others benefit, but we do!

Grace and Peace Y’all,

Brenda  

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “What’s Old is New Again

  1. I have enjoyed many great meals at this table and wonderful fellowship. Just a couple more months til I retire and plan to visit my friend!

    Like

  2. I remember your joy when you got that dining room set years ago. I think of all the meals and conversations as your family grew up around that table. How you cared for it and tried to protect it from wear and scratches of life with four children. Beautiful memories. Now with your hours of work and talent, you again obtained much joy as you have created a new look that fits your lifestyle. It looks lovely.
    I am reminded of a conversation of we had on the back porch of your Kalamazoo Street home. You were stripping an old piece of furniture to reveal the beauty of the wood to give it a new look. Putting much care and love into the project.

    Like

    • Oh gosh, I was ecstatic over getting that furniture. I remember thinking to myself, I will have this for a very long time. It really does hold so many memories, especially from the house on 15th St.
      I still have the small corner hutch that Jan and I scraped so many layers of paint off of. It’s in my basement waiting for a new home…maybe David and Laura? Thanks friend, I sure do miss you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

