Decorating With Vignette’s

Hey Y’all, it’s been a while!  It’s a good thing blogging is not my job or I would have been fired a long time ago…lol.  I follow lots of decorating blogs and most of them post at least a few times a week if not everyday.  I suspect they consider it their job and most likely make an income from this job, so it’s more important for them to pump out the info.

I have been doing a bit of traveling over the last 6 weeks or so, with trips to Colorado and Virginia.  My best friend, Irene, lives in Monument, CO and was anxious for me to come visit so we could do some decorating at her house.  We mostly updated smaller areas, but she was dying to get her guest bedroom remodeled.  She has only lived there three years, but the things she decorated that room with were things she had had quite a while.  She is still working on it and should have it finished sometime in July.

Well, anyway, I guess I should get to the theme of my blog today and that is Vignette’s.  I’m a bit obsessed with doing smaller decorative design throughout my home.  Some of the definitions of vignette are:  Any small, pleasing picture or view and a small, graceful literary sketch.  

I love putting a small vignette together, grouping interesting things that catch the eye, mostly on about any flat surface.    Sometimes I know exactly what I want to do with the items I have and other times it takes me a while and I will start putting things together, but I will most likely change or add to it over time.  I just put a new one together in my master bathroom, so I’ll start with that grouping.

IMG_1124

I have a store very close to me that I’ve mentioned before, Love Street, that has wonderful modern decor and since it’s my birthday this month I had a 25% off of one item coupon and decided to buy this galvanized wire tray to put between the sinks in our bathroom with my discount.  I wasn’t even sure what I would do with it right away, but took it into the bathroom and started looking around at what I already had.  I had everything you see here already, although the mini plant was a recent purchase, (I’m a bit obsessed with small potted greenery lately.)  More on that later.

IMG_1122

I have had the small clock for many years.  I have to have a clock to glance at when I’m in the bathroom getting ready, so made sure I used it once again with this design.  

IMG_1123

I love the way this looks, but who knows, I may decide something else fits better with this tray, we’ll see.  Next is another arrangement that I just put together.  Little by little I am updating my home as I find things that inspire me.

IMG_1140

I found this very old window at Christine’s in Woodstock, GA just this week.  I originally went to her shop to buy a tobacco basket, but felt they were just too pricey, so I looked around the shop and found two much less expensive things and still spent less than I would have for the basket.  This window still has it’s hinges on the left side and the latch, so I just loved it.  

IMG_1139

The wire and wood basket is a new find too.  I was browsing at Hobby Lobby and it was a clearance item and once again I wasn’t sure what I would actually put in it, but shopped my house again and ta-da I filled it with no problem.  Once again there’s that fun little potted greenery.  This is a small little hallway that leads to my bedroom and the children’s/prayer room.

IMG_1137

I love using old books, if you haven’t noticed, and have lots of them.  I pick them up at about anywhere I can find a good deal on them.  I follow a blog by Sarah at Little Vintage Nest and she showed how she paints books sometimes to match the decor of the room she is using them in…genius, I can’t wait to try doing that.  

Now I will try not to talk so much and just show you some more areas I put together and hope you enjoy the pics.

IMG_0653

IMG_1134

This is a frame lined with pages from a music book.

IMG_1144

IMG_1143

Some fun groupings on the shelves beside my fireplace.

IMG_1125

IMG_9900

I love trying to use unusual items and layering to give visual interest.  This wall vignette is in my half bath.  Ok, just a few more….

IMG_1130IMG_0971

A side table in the guest bedroom.

IMG_0968

These are a few more areas in the guest bedroom.  I have more projects to do in this room and hope to show you what I changed sometime soon.

 Well, I think that is enough for now.  Maybe you feel inspired to do a little vignetting at your house…if that’s a word?  Grin!

As much as I enjoy my home I am reminded by something Corrie Ten Boom once said, ” Happiness isn’t something that depends on our surroundings…It’s something we make inside ourselves.”  God gave me a beautiful home and blessed me with nice things that I never want to take for granted, but if it all went away tomorrow I always have Him , His Spirit inside of me, the source of all joy and contentment.  I’m so grateful!

“But godliness with contentment is great gain”  1 Timothy 6:6

Many blessings to you,

Brenda

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Decorating With Vignette’s

  1. Hi Brenda,

    I also love vignettes, and really like the ones you showed us today.

    I really like the tiny green plants to brighten up each area, as well as the little birds.

    Blessings and joy, Rickee

    We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you.” 2 Chronicles 20:12

    for I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep what I have committed to Him until that Day. 2 Timothy 1:12

    ________________________________

    Like

    • Thanks Rickee, so glad you enjoyed my blog and thanks a ton for sharing it! Also, thank you for the encouraging scriptures…still waiting on God to restore things with my son.

      Like

Leave a Reply

